Nursley Tools

I really have never enjoyed shopping. However, I do love getting new things. I think that this combination of traits has lended to my becoming an Amazon.com junkie. Nothing can make my day like opening my front door, holey sweats and mismatched socks in place, and finding a brown package with my name on it. “Why Amazon, you shouldn’t have, it’s not even my birthday!” *blushes coyly.

This beaut is what came in today.

image

“Oh Amazon, don’t make me laugh, I am a married woman.”
     I can now stop borrowing my coworkers’ “ears” all the time without asking. (Better to beg forgiveness than ask permission right?) Guys, this stethescope is so clean looking. Black on black, it makes me feel like a ninja gangster nurse. Also, thanks to an unfortunate stroller incident, it now smells like balsamic vinegar.  I’m acually still trying to figure out if that is a pro or a con.
Note to self: Don’t store snacks in a cheap container if you are packing it in a small stroller pocket with your brand new nurse toy all in an effort to show off said toy down a bumpy driveway.
     I find myself asking “Why am I so excited about this stethescope?” It is lower end, nothing special, and only had 3.5 stars on the Amazon review.
    To answer myself, my first thought was “Well, I havent had my own in over a month, and its been really inconvenient.” True as this may be, I don’t think that is all of it. I think that having my nursely things, my “tools,” makes me feel like a stronger nurse. Makes sense, Beethoven may not have been so good at his job if he were both death and short a finger (Maybe he would’ve, come to think of it.) But I am no prodigy. I need all the help I can get. I do mean ALL the help. That is why I make it a point every morning on my not-so-long commute to work to not turn on the radio. That is a very important time that I basically ask God to help me make people feel better and to help me not hurt anyone.  I think that every nurse has that deep, dark fear. Med errors, IV lines full of air, hanging the wrong blood… these are simple, yet potentially deadly mistakes. To err is human, unless you are a nurse. Then, to err is manslaughter.
     Every day, we have to be physically, mentally, and spiritually prepared. Today, we may hold the hand of a dying man, comfort the family that isn’t recognized by their own mother, we might even actually need the hemostat we’ve been carrying around for two years. We may face new moms with no formula, an addict with nowhere else to go, or a paraplegic with no will to live. It is so important that we are prepared for anything.
 
Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.

If God had used a nurse to write the Armor of God verses in Ephesians, I think it would have sounded more like this.

 Stand firm then, with the stethescope of truth dangled around your neck,with your favorite, comfy navy blue scrubs of righteousness in place, 15 and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace (and Dr. Scholl’s). In addition to all this, take up the alcohol pad of faith, with which you can extinguish all the bacteria of the evil one. Take the tape roll of salvation and the clicky black ink pen of the Spirit, which is the word of God.

-The final verse, however, would probably remain in tact.

And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the Lord’s people.

We do pray. We pray together, we pray alone, we pray our way through codes and heavy work loads. Silently, and occasionally aloud (only if old ladies bully me into it.) We pray for our patients and their loved ones. But what I pray for most is help.

Kori Reeves, Registered Nerd

Leave a Reply

